Life

Spring Cleaning

Hello everyone and welcome!

Spring is in the air.  Or rather, it’s already starting to feel like summer.  So, if you haven’t done your spring cleaning yet hopefully this motivates you to get started.  Every year I have a bit of a clean out to feel fresh for the start of a new season.  It usually occurs once school is out for the summer so I can purge myself of the amount of papers that accumulated over the year.  So here are a few things I do to get through it all.  Enjoy a no-makeup day with comfy clothes and throw your hair in a top knot- time to get started.

E8638ADE-6D24-48DC-B734-307D7E9CFD02203604CA-91B5-46CE-B2E7-3217DBD235DC

  1. I always start with clothes.  This turns in to a big try on haul (which may turn into a buying haul).  If you didn’t wear something this past winter, you probably aren’t going to wear it, so best to say goodbye.  And make sure your warmer weather clothes still fit!  Then if you’re in need, make a list of what clothes and shoes you need.
  2. Receipts, receipts, receipts.  Once a year, I go through to see what’s needed and what isn’t when it comes to past things I’ve bought.  If anything has been bought or done in the past week or two, I tend to hold on to it until next time.  I also take this time to check on the bank account and make sure everything looks right (which is probably something I should be doing more often).
  3. School stuff! Next up I go through that massive pile of papers, exams, notes, etc.  I find that as I get older, I seem to be keeping more notes that will help me in the future, but those will get filed away in an important place.
  4. Get rid of what’s expired.  Be it makeup, food, medicine, etc.  If it isn’t good anymore, it probably should not in your house.  Using expired makeup for instance can cause breakouts and wears a bit differently.
  5. Time to clean off an unnecessary clutter that’s been piling up.  Throw out the trash and rearrange what’s left.  I like to rearrange, sometimes more than just which candle I have out to burn, to bring some new life to my room.
  6. And then off to vacuuming and dusting.  Wipe down the windows.  Coat your wooden objects in that special oil.  Basically make it spotless- to the best of your ability.  And that’s just your bedroom.

4353E706-E631-49EE-B2BB-408A27E32099.JPG

Similar steps are taken in other rooms.  I recommend doing one room a day depending on how much you have to do.  Go through all of your belongings to decide what still brings you joy, put back and rearrange, dust and vacuum, and move on to the next section.  I picked up this book a while ago.  It’s been talked about quite a bit, “the life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo.  I’ve only read a little bit, but the rules that I’ve taken away are simple.  If it doesn’t still bring you joy, get rid of it.  You’re allowed to get rid of things that held memories.  But, if you really can’t bring yourself to part from it, that’s okay too.

F2CD1CEE-84C2-4894-826C-DE4D96460292.JPG

Let me know some of your spring cleaning tips in the comments below!

xx Val

Leave a comment